Summer Cocktails – Paleo and Organic

I like to get my relax on and enjoy a few adult bevies by the pool every now and then. One thing I’ve noticed recently is that once you start putting good stuff in your body, you feel really bad when you put in bad stuff. I’m not talking about emotionally, although that can happen too, but I’m talking about physically.

Now and days I feel like I can’t drink like I did when I was younger – maybe it’s just that I am just getting older better with age or maybe it’s because I don’t eat an entire pizza before drinking anymore. Whatever the reason, I wanted to find a way to enjoy a mixed drink and not get the sugar/alcohol shakes in the morning. So I came across two awesome summer mixers that are super tasty, low in calories, organic, Paleo, gluten free, vegan and just overall amazing. Over the weekend I tested out these two new cocktails!!

IMG_0431

Jalagreeno 2.0 Paleo-ish Margarita

What you need:

Jalagreeno 2.0 from Project Juice
100% Aqave Tequlia – I used Camarena

Ok, before anyone flips out on me about Paleo stuff, I understand that there is some debate on weather or not Tequila is Paleo. It’s derived from plants with no added sugars (as long as it is 100% Agave), gluten free and low-carb. So for all intents and purposes, if I’m Paleo and am going to drink, this is my jam.

I like my Margs frozen but for health reasons I do not own a margarita machine, but I do own an ice tray. I froze a full tray of Jalagreeno 2.0 and got out my magic bullet (best purchase of my life). 4 mixer cubes and 1.5 oz of Tequila is perfect for a single serving and easy enough to make again when you are ready for number two.

IMG_0471

Organic Watermelon Berry Martini 

What you need:

Watermelon Berry mixer from Project Juice
Organic vodka – I love Prairie Vodka

This is possibly the easiest drink to make ever. Pour 2 oz of Vodka and 2 oz of Watermelon Berry in shaker with Ice. Shake it up and pour. The hard part is drinking more then two and still being able to walk.

The good news is that you can make a ton of drinks with these bottles of mixer. Bad news, you have to drink it all with in 24 hours of opening the bottle because there are no preservatives in them (hidden good news). Good news, you can freeze  whatever is left over. So there really is no bad news.

IMG_0447

Please drink responsible and don’t drink and drive!

Here are the nutritional fact on each mixer for a 4 oz Serving:

Jalagreeno 2.0
Calories 28
Total Fat 0g
Cholesterol 0g
Sodium 4mg
Total Carbohydrate 5g
-Sugars 4g

Watermelon Berry
Calories 38
Total Fat 0g
Cholesterol 0g
Sodium 12mg
Total Carbohydrate 9g
-Sugars 7g

IMG_0487

Totally acceptable beach drink!

I do partner with Project Juice for run club and enjoy a delicious juice from them from time to time. However, this post was not sponsored by Project Juice. It was sponsored by me and I just really really love their stuff! PS. They ship their juices if you don’t live in the bay area. If you called and asked nicely I bet they would ship the mixers for you! Just Sayin’

Kristen xox

One thought on “Summer Cocktails – Paleo and Organic

Leave a Reply

