Two Instructor Life Hacks!

Ok… so these are not just for instructors – anyone can use them! But I use them mainly for my group fitness life.

1. De-cluter your life

Do you ever feel like you are drowning in instructor Dvd’s?

IMG_0414
I found these handy dandy little Dvd sleeves. They hold two disks, have a section for notes as well as the cover! The way I decided to store my library was, notes in front, then the Dvd’s, and then the cover folded in half in the back. The reason I did this was was so that I could still see the song list on the back of the sleeve. This makes 3 Dvd sets shrink down to the size of one Dvd case.

IMG_0432
I am still constructing my office but this took my DVD collection from an entire book case to just one cube!!

IMG_0440
2. Stretch the life of your workout clothes.

I love to wear black when I exercise but having to wash my stuff all the time tends to fade out my workout gear. Quite often the color fades before the clothes actually wear out. When that happens I like to extend the life of my stuff by performing a little at-home-dye-job.  Sounds easy enough but there are a few things to keep in mind when doing this:

  • Only try this is if the only other option is throwing away your piece of clothing. I wouldn’t try it on a perfectly fine pair of Lulu Yoga pants.
  • Make sure everything on your piece of clothing is black. If there is anything on them that white or a different color, that part can turn to a weird shade of gray.
  • Wear gloves. The dye will turn your hands black!
  • Make sure your sink won’t stain. There is no point in ruining your bathroom for a $40.00 pair of shorts.
  • After you finish, wash your clothes one more time. Black sweat is not natural or cute.

I buy RIT dye from the grocery store for $2.99 a bottle. There are instructions on the bottle but the way I like to use it is in the sink – one piece of clothing at a time. I use hot hot water and an old kitchen spoon to mix it all up. I let it soak for about 45 min, then rinse out all of the dye. Finally, I wash it by itself just to get out any excess dye.

IMG_0443

IMG_0448

If it doesn’t work then I am am only out $2.99 and then I go buy new shorts, because obviously I need them. DUH!

Kristen xox

Leave a Reply

